Ancient Egypt :) 

Hello everybody!

I hope those of you who are also on half term are having an absolutely fabulous time with your week off – I know I am. Mum and Dad have taken me and Danny to a few local historical points of interest which has been awesome! My favourite was Quarry Bank Mill because the machinery was so scary and incredible due to it’s enormous size. It is MAD to think that children younger than me used to work there and carry all the heavy cotton barrels. I’d get tired straight away …

I have been thinking recently that I would like to visit historic sites in other countries, like how amazing would it be to see the pyramids from Ancient Egypt? I think it would be incredible! Egypt might just be my favourite place to look at the history of – it is all so fascinating. In fact, a couple of days ago I did ask  Dad if I would ever be able to visit but he said it wasn’t really a good idea because it is a very dangerous place at the moment. That’s a shame – because if I visited the sites now, then maybe I could travel back to the ancient times there and see everything that went on back then. I would love it! Danny also seemed to be fairly disappointed that we couldn’t visit, which is weird. His interest in history boomed a few years ago and now he is SO eager to visit new places … I wonder why that is? Before that bizarre and sudden opinion change he was bored every time we even set a foot out of the door in search of a museum or landmark. *sighs* why do boys change their minds so much? I will never understand them.

Anyway, I find Egypt so fascinating, that I have researched its History and have come up with 5 facts for you to enjoy! Really hope you do like them and find them as entertaining as I do 🙂

  1. Because I loveeee art, I wanted to add a very creative fact at the top of the list. Did you know that in Ancient Egypt, pottery was made out of mud from the Nile, mixed with sand and other minerals. It was then heated to a whopping 800 degrees Celsius at it’s hottest… OUCH!!!!!!! That would not be fun to touch.
  2. Do any of you know what The Sphinx is? Well if you don’t – this is where you find out :). The Sphinx is a massive statue of a mythical creature carved out of limestone, it has a lion’s body and a human’s head. The person is thought to be Pharaoh Cheops. It was built over 10,000 years ago which means it is super old!
  3. The Ancient Egyptians were some of the first people to develop reading and writing. Can you imagine nobody being able to write? That is so difficult to think about because it is something we do every single day. It’s even harder to imagine creating an entire language from scratch – must have taken a long time indeed. Well done to them 🙂
  4. Most Egyptians believed in life after death and bodies were preserved in tombs. To be honest that sounds a bit gross to me!  
  5. Egyptions believed their Kings and Queens were Gods. Haha it must have been strange back then, and scary. Being able to see a God in person would be just a ‘little’ bit intimidating at times. And wouldn’t it be odd to worship a person? Hmm

 

Hope you enjoyed this post! I will be back next Wednesday. In the meantime, I think I will go and do even more drawings of the pyramids…

See you soon,

~Jenny~

2 thoughts on “Ancient Egypt :) 

  1. if you like that then you might like to research the Ancient Mesopotamians because ohmigod they are so cool! Pretty sure they were the first ‘civilisation’ and possibly the first people to write down their language….don’t really know tho XD also those pyramids look seriously cool,wish i could draw like that…like…wow

    Like

Leave a Reply

